The National Centre for Technology Management (NACETEM) originated following a recommendation of the 2nd Conference of Ministers responsible for Application of Science and Technology to the socio-econimic establishment of Africa (CASTAFRICA II, 1987). They called for the develoopment and harmonization of human resources needed to promote, project and propagate technology management in Africa.

Consequently, NACETEM was established in September 1992 but commenced operations in January 1993, headed by a Drector, with the headquarters located within the campus of the Obafemni Awolowo University (OAU), Ile-Ife, Osun state. This was to allow it leverage on the huge human resources, especially in Technology Management, available at the University.

In November 2005, following reforms of the National Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) system by the Federal Government of Nigeria, the original mandates of NACETEM were streamlined and re-structured to cover activities in the West African sub-region and beyond the the merger of former Regional Programme for Technology Management (REPTEM) with NACETEM.

NACETEM was thereafter elevated to the status of a full agency headed by a Director General/Chief Executive Officer. Consequently, REPTEM, located in Lagos, was re-designated as the NACETEM South West Zonal office. Five other zonal offices of the Centre have been established and have been in full operation in Abuja (North Central), Bayelsa (South South), Kano (North West), Enugu (South East) and Yola (North East).

Today, NACETEM as an Agency of the Federal Ministry of Science and Technology, is vested with the mandate of training and developing middle-to-high level manpower and conducting policy research in the areas of Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) management for all tiers of government and the private sector. It provides the knowledge support and constitutes the software component of the nation’s Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) System.